List of 28 States and Capitals & 8 Union Territories on Map of India

June 27, 2024

Table of Contents

Table of Contents

India is among the top 5 countries in the world in terms of population. With so many people spread out over the country, Governance or management becomes hard. This is where the union territories, states and capitals come into the picture. India’s large population is accommodated in 28 different states and 8 union territories. We have prepared the complete list of all the states and union territories along with an India map with states and capitals

Knowledge of the states and capitals of India along with the union territories is necessary for preparing for several Government exams. For students who are wondering about how many states are in India, let us clear away the doubts.

Latest Updates: States and Capitals of India

India has 8 union territories since January 26, 2020. The two union territories of Daman & Diu and Dadra, and Nagar Haveli have been combined into one single union territory.

Jammu and Kashmir, an earlier state, have been divided into the Union Territories (UT) of J&K and Ladakh. The newly created union territories were established in accordance with a reorganisation act that the Parliament passed on August 5 and 6, 2020.

India map with States and Capitals

Map of India (States and Capitals)
Political India map with states and capitals (Source: Consulate General of India)

Indian States and Capitals

There are a total of 28 Indian states and capitals. All of these states have been given the status of State in stages over the years. News states have been added in batches during the years 1950, 1956, 1960, 1963, 1966, 1972, 1982, 1987, 2000 and 2014. The last states that made the list were Chattisgarh, Jharkhand and Uttrakhand in the year 2000 and thereafter, Telangana took shape in the year 2014. The full list of all states and capitals has been, for reference, prepared in a table.

Andhra PradeshAmaravati
Arunachal PradeshItanagar
Himachal PradeshShimla
Madhya PradeshBhopal
Tamil NaduChennai
Uttar PradeshLucknow
West BengalKolkata

Indian Union Territories and Capitals

Besides the Indian states and capitals, there are also union territories. In particular, India has a total of 8 union territories with each UT having its own capital.

Union TerritoryCapital
Andaman and Nicobar IslandsPort Blair
Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & DiuDaman
DelhiNew Delhi
Jammu and KashmirSrinagar (Summer)
Jammu (Winter)

States and Capitals: Important Points

The difference between a state and a union territory is that the latter is under the direct control of the central Government. There is also a Lieutenant Governor in the role of an Administrator while for the states, the head is a Chief Minister. To keep understanding the 28 states and capitals and 8 union territories, we will know in-depth about the differences between both.

  • All Indian states and their capitals have an executive head. For states, it is the President and for union territories, it is the Lieutenant Governor.
  • Management of the states is under its own Government ie. State Government. However, for union territories, the Central Government manages all affairs.
  • The actual head of the states is the Chief Minister while for union territories it is the Lieutenant Governor.
  • The Chief Minister is an official who is elected by the public. The main head of the union territory is, on the other hand, elected by the President of India.
  • Between states and union territories of India, states are generally larger in area and UTs are smaller in area.

India is a complex country with many states and capitals. The shape of our country has been taking shape since the British era. Knowledge of all the states and union territories is essential for school-level studies and entrance examinations. For any questions related to India’s states and its union territories head to Chegg India for more information.

Read More – National and International Important Days and Dates 2022


How many states in India ?

India is a federal union that has 28 states with each state having its own capital.

How many union territories are there in India ?

At present , India has 8 union territories. They are : Andaman and Nicobar Islands , Chandigarh , Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu, Delhi, Jammu and Kashmir, Lakshadweep, Puducherry, Ladakh.

Which state has been divided to make Union Territory?

Jammu and Kashmir is divided into two union territories: 1. Jammu & Kashmir and 2. Ladakh

What is Capital of India?

Delhi ( Union Territory) is Capital of India