SSC CGL Exam Pattern 2023: Revised Syllabus For SSC CGL Tier 1 & Tier 2

August 7, 2023
ssc cgl exam pattern

Table of Contents

Table of Contents

THE SSC CGL exam pattern is formulated to provide structure and consistency to the examination process, ensuring a fair evaluation of candidates. Here is an overview of the SSC CGL exam pattern for 2023.

The Staff Selection Commission Combined Graduate Level (SSC CGL) exam is a highly competitive national-level test for graduate-level government jobs. Around 7500 vacancies are out for SSC CGL 2023 this time.

To excel in the exam, aspirants must be aware of the latest exam pattern, which has undergone significant changes over the years. Knowing the exam pattern, including the marking scheme, will help aspirants prepare effectively. Plus, it’ll increase their chances of success.

In this article, you will get to learn about the latest exam pattern and the marking scheme for the SSC CGL exam for all tiers. Let’s get started!

SSC CGL Exam Pattern 2023: Overview

Exam NameSSC CGL 2023
SSC CGL Full FormStaff Selection Commission Combined Graduate Level
Conducting BodyStaff Selection Commission
Exam TypeNational Level Exam
CategoryExam Pattern
Number of tiers2
SSC CGL Tier 1 Exam Date 202314th July to 27th July 2023
SSC CGL Tier 2 Exam Date 2023will be notified
Mode of ApplicationOnline
Mode of examOnline
Number of papers/sectionsTier-I: 4 sections (English Intelligence & Reasoning, General Awareness, Quantitative Aptitude, English Comprehension)

Tier-II: 3 papers will be conducted in SSC CGL Tier 3. The details are given below:

Paper 1:

• Mathematical Abilities
• Reasoning and General Intelligence
• English Language and Comprehension
• General Awareness
• Computer Knowledge
• Data Entry Skills

Paper 2: Statistics

Paper 3: General Studies-Finance and Economics
Exam DurationTier 1 – 60 minutes

Tier 2 –
• Paper 1- 2 hours 30 minutes
• Paper 2 – 120 minutes
• Paper 3 – 120 minutes
Number of questionsTier-I: 100

Tier-II: MCQs + DEST
Type of questionsTier-I: MCQs

Tier-II: MCQs + DEST
Total MarksTier-I: 200

Tier-II: 850
Language of paperTier 1: English and Hindi

Tier 2: English and Hindi

SSC CGL 2023 aspirants must review the complete exam pattern, including all tiers. Understanding the paper pattern thoroughly can help you prepare better and increase your chances of success.

Earn Online with Chegg No Investment Required

SSC CGL Exam Pattern: Tier 1

The SSC holds a computer-based exam that consists of 100 multiple-choice questions. The SSC CGL Tier 1 exam consists of 4 sections with a total of 100 questions and 200 marks. Below are the details for the exam pattern of SSC CGL:

The sections covered in SSC CGL Tier-I Exam include:

  • General Intelligence & Reasoning
  • General Awareness
  • Quantitative Aptitude
  • English Comprehension

In 60 minutes, the candidates must read, comprehend, and answer 100 questions. It means that each contender will only have a few seconds to respond to a single question. The SSC CGL exam also has negative markings with a deduction of 0.50 points for each incorrect answer.

SSC CGL Tier-I Sections & SubjectsNumber of QuestionsMarks
A: General Intelligence Reasoning2550
B: General Awareness2550
C: Quantitative Aptitude2550
D: English Comprehension2550

SSC CGL Exam Pattern: Tier 2

The Staff Selection Commission will conduct the SSC CGL Tier-2 exam in three phases— Paper 1, Paper 2, and Paper 3.

SSC CGL Tier 2 Exam Pattern

S. No.PapersExam Duration
1Paper-I: (Compulsory for all posts)2 hours 30 minutes
2Paper-II: Junior Statistical Officer (JSO)2 hours
3Paper-III: Assistant Audit Officer/ Assistant Accounts Officer2 hours

The table below explains the complete SSC CGL Tier 2 Exam format, including subjects, the total number of questions, marks, and the time allotted for it.

SSC CGL Tier 2 Paper 1 Exam Pattern

SectionModuleSubjectNo. of QuestionsMarksDuration
Section IModule-IMathematical Abilities30901 hour
Module-IIReasoning and General Intelligence3090
Section IIModule-IEnglish Language and Comprehension451351 hour
Module-IIGeneral Awareness2575
Section IIIModule-IComputer Knowledge Test206015 minutes
Module-IIData Entry Speed TestOne Data Entry Task15 minutes

The table below details the SSC CGL Tier 2 Paper 2 & 3 Exam pattern. It includes sections, the total number of questions, marks, and the duration.

SSC CGL Tier 2 Paper 2 & 3 Exam Pattern

PaperSectionNo. of questionsMaximum marksDuration
Paper IStatistics1002002 hours
Paper IIGeneral Studies (Finance and Economics)1002002 hours

SSC CGL Exam Pattern: Data Entry Speed Test

The Data Entry Speed Test is a qualifying exam under the SSC CGL Tier III. It tests the typing speed and accuracy of candidates. To qualify, candidates must have a minimum typing speed of 8,000 key depressions per hour.

Candidates should additionally have a working knowledge of computer systems and software. It includes MS Word, Excel, and Powerpoint. It is also essential to practice typing and become familiar with computer systems. It’ll increase the chances of success in this test.

SSC CGL Exam Marking Scheme: Topic-wise

With the help of a marking scheme, students can calculate their marks. Additionally, they can get an idea of how many marks they could score. Below are the available marking schemes of SSC CGL Tier 1 and Tier 2.

SSC CGL Tier 1

The marks calculation formula of SSC CGL Tier 1 – (Number of Correct Questions x 2) – (Number of Incorrect Questions x 0.5)

QuestionsMarks Allotted
Marks allotted for Correct Question2 marks
Marks allotted for Incorrect Question0.50 marks

SSC CGL Tier 2

The marks calculation formula of SSC CGL Tier 2 Paper 1 – (Number of Correct Questions x 3) – (Number of Incorrect Questions x 1)

The marks calculation formula of SSC CGL Tier 2 Paper 2 & 3 – (Number of Correct Questions x 2) – (Number of Incorrect Questions x 0.5)

SSC CGL Tier-IIMarks Awarded per QuestionNegative Marking
Paper 13 marks1 marks
Paper 22 marks0.50 marks
Paper 32 marks0.50 marks

Also Read: SSC CGL Exam 2023: Latest News, Date, Eligibility, Salary & Vacancies

SSC CGL Exam: Tips

In conclusion, the SSC CGL exam pattern is a critical aspect that aspirants must understand to increase their chances of success. The exam has undergone significant changes over the years, including the addition of the Data Entry Speed Test in Tier III.

It is crucial to understand the complete exam pattern and marking scheme to prepare effectively for the exam. Knowing the exam pattern helps aspirants identify their strengths and weaknesses, enabling them to focus on specific topics and areas that need improvement.

Furthermore, understanding the marking scheme helps aspirants prioritize and allocate time efficiently, leading to better time management during the exam.

Therefore, to succeed in the SSC CGL exam, aspirants must thoroughly analyze the exam pattern and marking scheme before starting their preparation.


What are the 4 tiers in SSC CGL?

The SSC CGL exam has four tiers: Tier 1, Tier 2, Tier 3, and Tier 4.

Is SSC CGL Tier 1 qualifying?

Yes, SSC CGL Tier 1 is a qualifying exam, and aspirants must score above the cut-off to be eligible for the subsequent tiers.

Is SSC CGL easy or tough?

The difficulty level of the SSC CGL exam can vary. Mostly, it’s very tough. Aspirants must prepare accordingly and strategize to tackle the difficulty level in the exam’s different sections.

Can I crack SSC CGL on the 1st attempt?

Yes, aspirants can crack SSC CGL on the first attempt with proper planning, dedication, and consistent practice.

How difficult is it to crack SSC CGL without coaching?

Although coaching can be helpful, it is possible to crack SSC CGL without it, provided aspirants have self-discipline and a focused approach towards studying and practicing regularly.

Related Content



Popular Blogs