What is the Eligibility Criteria for UPSC Engineering Services exam?

What is the IES exam? – The UPSC engineering services

UPSC Engineering Services Examination is conducted once a year to select Class – 1 designated engineers for several government departments. The major departments for IES which they are recruited for are:

  • Indian Railway
  • Power
  • Telecommunication
  • Central water engineering
  • Defense service of engineers

The type of work depends upon the department they get. It is one of the best careers to pursue as an engineer as it not only provides a good income, reputed career but one also attains high esteem.

After your selection, you will join as a Asst. Executive Engineer and with promotions in your career you can also go up to as Managing director/ chairman.

UPSC Engineering Services
January 7, 2022
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Table of Contents

Basic Exam details of UPSC engineering services

You can also check our article on the easiest optional subject for UPSC.

What are the IES eligibility criteria?

  1. Age
  2. Education Qualification
  3. Nationality
  4. Physical Standards


The IES age limit criteria are as follows:

  • For a general category candidate, the age limit is from 21 years to 30 years. Also, a candidate should not enter the age of 30 on 1st January of that year. Eg. A candidate who wants to sit for the exam in 2020 must be born after 2nd Jan 1990 and before 2nd Jan 1999.

  • An SC or ST candidate gets a relaxation of 5 years, i.e the upper age limit is 35.
  • OBC candidates get a relaxation of 3 years.
  • Candidates who lived in Jammu and Kashmir between 1 Jan 1980 to 31 Jan 1989 get relaxation for at most of 5 years.
  • 3 years of relaxation in the upper age limit of the IES are also given to those candidates who were working for defense services of India and were disabled in operations:
    • With any foreign country, or
    • In a disturbed area
  • At most 5 year relaxation for ex-servicemen including Commissioned Officers and ECOs/SSCOs who have rendered at least 5 years Military Service as on 1st January 2020 and have been released
    • on completion of assignment otherwise than by way of dismissal or discharge on account of misconduct, or
    • on account of physical disability due to Service or
  • Physically disabled candidates get a relaxation of at most 10 years.

Education Qualification

IES eligibility criteria are as follows, that is,  Candidates must pass these criteria to be fit for giving the exam.

  • A degree in engineering from a University recognized by one of these, Central or State Legislature or other Educational Institutions established by an Act of Parliament or Deemed Universities under Section 3 of the University Grants Commission Act, 1956 in India.
  • Candidates having cleared section A and section B of Institution Exams of the Institution of Engineers India.
  • An Engineering degree or diploma from a foreign institution recognized by the government.
  • Passed Graduate Membership Exam of the Institute of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineers (India);
  • Passed Associate Membership Exam Parts II and III/Sections A and B of the ASI;
  • Cleared the graduate membership exam of the Institution of Electronics and Radio Engineers, London after November of 1959.

Note: For the ones who are in the Indian Naval Armament Service (Electronics Engineering Posts), the following qualification will also work for them: M.Sc. degree or it’s equal with Electronics, Wireless Communication, Radio Physics as a special subject. Candidates appearing in their Engineering degree or equivalent exam are also eligible to compete. But, such candidates who qualify for the written exam will have to submit proof of passing the engineering exam. A candidate who is otherwise qualified but has taken a degree from a foreign institution that is not recognized by Government may also apply to the Commission. But,  their admission to the exam depends on the discretion of the Commission.


Candidates from any of the following nationalities are eligible for the IES Exam and can apply for the same:

  • Citizens of India, Nepal or Bhutan
  • Refugee migrated before 1 January 1962 from Tibet to settle in India,
  • Person of Indian origin who migrated from Burma, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. Also, anyone from East African countries of Uganda, Kenya, Tanzania, Malawi, Zambia, Ethiopia and Zaire or from Vietnam to settle in India.

Note: All the citizens other than citizens of India should get a certificate of eligibility issued by the Indian government when you will be completing the process of document verification.

Physical Standards

  • Everyone aspiring to qualify the process and become a government Engineer must undergo the medical exam.
  • All the details related to venue, date, time, etc will be uploaded on the official website of the Indian Railway.
  • For qualifying this round for IES, one should be medically fit according to the standard set for the medical round of IES.

IES Examination posts and services

Civil, Mechanical, Electrical, and Electronics – These are the 4 categories of engineering under which the exam takes place.

Final Thoughts

You can also work as a part-time Subject Expert to hone your skills and earn at the same time while you prepare for your UPSC Engineering Services Exam.

Continue reading

To read more related articles, click here.

Grow career, boost earnings