RBI Grade B Exam Pattern And Syllabus

RBI Grade B Exam Pattern And Syllabus

RBI Grade B Exam Pattern And Syllabus
RBI Grade B Exam Pattern And Syllabus
April 12, 2021
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

RBI stands for Reserve Bank of India, it’s the central bank of India. The Reserve Bank of India conducts the RBI Grade B Officer Exam every year to identify qualified candidates for Grade B officer positions in its many branches across the country.

RBI Grade B Exam Pattern consist of online exam and interview :

  • Preliminary Exam
  • Mains Exam
  • Interview.

The RBI Grade B syllabus and exam pattern differ depending on the stage of selection:

  1. First, Candidates who qualify for the prelims exam called for the mains exam.
  2. Candidates based on their mains exam’s score called for interview.
  3. Candidates are selected based on their performance in the mains exam and interview.

First, let’s discuss the RBI Grade B Syllabus for prelims and mains exam, then we will discuss the pattern of the exams. Finally, we will discuss the total marks hold by each section and what are the time allotted.

Table of Contents

RBI Grade B Officer Exam Syllabus

The syllabus is almost same as other banking exams.

RBI Preliminary Exam

Detail of the syllabus is given below.  

Reasoning Quantitative Aptitude General Awareness English Language
Puzzle Simplification & Approximation Current Affairs Reading Comprehension
Alphabets/ Alphanumeric Series/ Numeric Series Number Series Banking Awareness Cloze Test
 Direction sense Inequality (Quadratic & Quantity based) Indian Financial System Para jumbles
Data Sufficiency Ratio & Proportion, Partnership Indian Banking System Vocabulary Based
Inequalities Percentage Banking History Multiple Meaning/Error Spotting
Syllogism Mixtures & Alligations Monetary Plans Paragraph Completion
Input-Output Average & ages National and International Institutions Fill in the blanks
Seating Arrangement Profit & Loss Bank Terms & Abbreviations Spelling Errors
Blood Relation Time and work & Pipe and cistern Economic News Word Replacement
Order and Ranking Simple Interest & Compound Interest Banking Agreements Column based Fillers and Sentence Connectors
coding-decoding Data Interpretation Government Schemes Word Usage
  Data sufficiency Awards Idioms and Phrases
  Time & Distance, Boat & stream Books and Authors Sentence Completion
  Mensuration (2D&3D) Sports News  
  Permutation, Combination &Probability    

RBI Grade B Mains syllabus

The RBI Grade B Mains Exam 2021 will be divided into three sections: Economic and social issues, Finance, and Management.

The following is the overall syllabus:

Subject Syllabus
Economic & Social Issues Social Structure in India
Economic Reforms in India
Growth and Development
Finance Risk Management
Basics of Derivatives
Financial System & Markets
Development in Financial Sector
Union Budget
Management Communication
Corporate Governance
Role of Manager
Human Resource Development
Motivation, Morale and Incentives


Know More – RBI Officer Grade B Result & Cut-Off Marks

RBI Grade B Exam Pattern

RBI Grade B Officer exam pattern is divided into three parts, Phase I, Phase II, and interview. Therefore, the exam pattern is different for different stages of selection.

Candidates who successfully qualify in the phase I exam called for the phase II exam. Candidates, based on their phase II exam score, are called for an interview. The final selection of candidates is made based on their performance in the mains exam and interview.

RBI Grade B officer exam pattern provides details regarding the overall structure of the exam, such as marking scheme, total marks, number of sections, and time duration. Therefore, before beginning with the RBI Grade B Officer exam preparation, it is advised that candidates must go through the exam pattern thoroughly to understand how they should utilize their time and secure a good ranking.

The structure of the Examination, which will be conducted online, are as follows:

Prelims Exam Pattern

The RBI Grade B Officer 2021 prelims exam is an online examination with four sections in total.

The total number of marks allotted for all sections is 200, and the total time to complete all sections of the Preliminary exam is 120 minutes. The RBI Grade B Prelims 2021 exam, 0.25 marks will be deducted for each incorrectly attempted question.

In short, Candidates must obtain the minimum marks required by the Board.

Mains Exam Pattern

The mains exam has total marks of 300.

There are two papers in the mains (Phase-II) exam (Paper-I, Paper-II, and Paper-III). All shifts must be covered by the candidates. Each shift will obtain a letter of admission. Only candidates who have been shortlisted based on Phase I and the Board’s cut-off will be eligible to take the Phase-II online Examination on April 1, 2021.

The Phase-II Examination will be in shifts. Therefore, candidates are required to appear for all shifts.

Note: Candidates from the unreserved, i.e. General Category, who have previously appeared six times for the Phase-I Examination for this post/s are not eligible to apply.

Know More – RBI Officer Grade B Admit Card and Interview Call Letter

Continue reading

Earn while you study

To explore related exams, click here.